The Winter Olympics open on the Friday 12th February in Vancouver and closes 17 days later on Sunday 28th February. 

The brilliant Yarn Harlot is again opening the Knitting Olympics  to her blog readers, her post for this year can be found here: Yarn Harlot’s post. For knitters, the aim is to cast on and knit a project in the period in which the Olympics are in progress. The item(s) to be knitted should offer a challenge to the individual knitter, so I’ve chosen to knit mitts and learn how to work two at a time using the Magic Loop technique. I’m loving my choice of mitts Whither I think I may have the perfect yarn for this.

Ravelry,  the online knitters community is also running the Ravelympics over the same period, where members of the online groups form teams to compete in events and again complete projects during the course of the games. I’m headed to a TeamGoddess cast-on party in Southampton on Saturday to join in the fun.

